Isn’t It Time You Shipped?

by Joseph Ratliff

My neighbor hates his job.

He struggles to go to work each day, worrying about what his boss thinks…getting pages every day while he is at home…all from a 9 to 5 that pretty much runs his life in his mind.

But yet he still goes…

He has this talent for writing absolutely stunning short stories and essays.  He has a talent for speaking in front of groups of people at his hated job.

Yet still hasn’t shipped any of that to the world however.

He’s 49.

I’ve asked him, “Why do you go to a job you hate, working with people you hate, earning a wage you hate?”

He replies “Because I have a secure income, and in this economy…”

I stopped him from finishing that statement.

I get sick to my stomach every time I hear it from someone in his position (and boy are there a lot of people in his position).

So I asked him, “Don’t you think it’s more of a risk going to a job you hate when you consider the risk to your health, the stress, the impact on your family, and such?”

(because I’ve been in the same position myself)

Then I asked… “And… how bad could it really get if you tried to use your gift of writing and speaking to form a work-at-home business…even if it took several more months at night when you get off of work to start the business?”

He couldn’t answer that question…but he is thinking about it.

Isn’t it time you shipped your gift to the world?

We’re waiting. 🙂

